Hello, welcome to my blog.

Gee, here it is, my first ever blog post. No one will be reading, or will they? (Existential dilemma no. 1 – am I alone in this “universe”?)

Funny thought No. 1: if I thought someone was looking over my shoulder as I write these words, then I’d almost die of embarassment. Like they were reading my inner thoughts. Or catching me peeing into a garden late at night. Or being caught looking at a girl’s breasts for too long. But if someone reads it when I’m finished, why should I feel any different? Hmmm…dunno.

Okay, some ground rules for this, my first and probably only blog. First rule is, I have no single topic that I’d like to write on. My mind wanders too much for that. I am amazed when people can spend months or years writing complex blogs about the uppercase (char) routine in Visual Basic, or the exact composition of the soil in the wine-growing Chateau-neuf-de-pape region of France. Or whatever. In fact, I get amazed they can do it for more than 10 minutes frankly. However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t admire these people, or even envy them. It’s just that I cannot be like them. So, my blog will wander off in all sorts of random ways that even I cannot predict now. That breaks the rule all those “how to make money blogging” guides tell you to follow. Who cares?

My second rule will be: I will try and avoid obscenities, rudeness, racist remarks, sexist remarks, and other obvious offensive language. It’s not because I’m prudish or PC. It’s because 1) I’m past all that, 2) I think it’s unedifying and boring, 3) It doesn’t add anything new, and 4) There are times it offends gratuitously.

My third rule is: This blog is for me and me only. If anybody else ever reads it I’ll be amazed.

My last rule: Have fun.

2 Comments

  1. Anon E Mous said,

    May 29, 2007 at 10:27 am

    “If anybody else ever reads it I’ll be amazed”

    Go way outta that Mr. S. It is a law of the Internet that every blog gets read at least once

  2. February 11, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I like your blog. E-mail me some time !


Leave a Reply

