Wine

My brother Niall texted me on Thursday night last. He was going to France early the next day and wanted to know what wine I wanted. He had told me before, but I had forgotten. Now, frankly, I know precious little about wine, except that I like what I like etc. I think I know enough to tell a bad wine from a good wine. Above all, I am dying to experiment with new tastes and wines. Here was a chance I could not pass up!

Drat, it was late, so I logged on frantically to the www.normandiewines.com website to browse their collection. I asked Niall to collect 2 each of the following:

Pouilly Fumé “La Charmette”, Domaine Chauveau  (White, Loire), Mercurey ‘Les Mauvarennes’ , Domaines Faiveley (Red, Burgundy), Moulin à Vent, Domaine Gilbert Picolet (Red, Burgundy), Saint Emilion Grand Cru 2001, Château Lamarthe (Red, Bordeaux), Sure, might as well throw in 2 more to make it a round 10….(both reds again), 1 Bourgogne Hautes Côtes de Beaune, Domaine Denis Carré (Burgundy), 1 Margaux, La Bastide de Dauzac (Bordeaux).
The thought of drinking this wine has me dizzy with pleasure. Or is that dizzy with drunkeness? Throw in a couple of South African bottles we have lying about, a Sicilian wine, and another St. Emilion, we’ll be well and truely plastered. Happy times.

Leave a Reply

