Virtual Rome

I’ve always been a keen student of ancient Roman and Greek history. I’ve had the pleasure of visiting Rome, Syracuse, Constantinople (Istanbul), Athens, and Corinth. And, yes, I got the recent series Rome on DVD as a wonderful Christmas present from Susan. I highly recommend Robin Lane Fox’s extremely well-written account of ancient culture in Rome and Greece: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome. (also a lovely present from Susan – what would I do without her…aaah!) 

Anyway, my interest was piqued greatly by hearing that there’s a virtual version of ancient Rome now being developed.

Here are some images I’ve borrowed. There is even some talk that it’ll end up somewhere in Second Life. The website is http://www.romereborn.virginia.edu/. I’ll have to dust down that toga and sword and brush up on some Latin.

Leave a Reply

