Neoblogisms

The New York Times has a fun article on the invention of new words – neologisms. I love this myself, having coined a mass of new words for blogs here and here. I’ve decided to call these new words neoblogisms.

Apparently, ginormous is a neologism (and one of my favourites!) – the contraction of gigantic and enormous. It somehow expresses the biggerness of something. Humongous even.

One I never heard of before but will start using is Googlegänger: “the other person who shows up in Google search results when people search for you”. Every time people search for me (the real me that is…not Shazgood…) they get a slightly famous actor in the English tv series The Bill. My girlfriends Googleganger is a more famous, real serial mass murderer…honestly!

They say that this is a word in search of a definition: mucknut. How about “people who visit music festivals in July in Ireland” …see the picture below!

oxegen-tents.jpg

One we coined during our recent “winter of builders” was “glumpy”. A mix of gloomy and grumpy. Catches the weight of it perfectly, don’t you think! Kinda lumpy, heavy, down. Thankfully, the builders eventually left and we’re grand now.

3 Comments

  1. David Levine said,

    July 16, 2007 at 2:07 am

    Please explain “winter of builders”. Love your neoblogisms. Mucknut is truly a lovely coinage. Right up there with my very own “crapstack”.

  2. shazgood said,

    July 16, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Our “winter of builders” was our winter of discontent. We had some building work to be done on our new house, which was estimated at X euro and 6 weeks. After 12 weeks and 2 times X money we finally got them out the door!

    Having said that, the guys were lovely, the job was superb, we have no complaints. But I spent the 12 weeks moving from my brothers, my girlfriend’s mother’s place, hotel (briefly), my own mothers, my own house, and work. I was exhausted by the end of it!

  3. David said,

    July 16, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Thanks for the explanation shazgood. I’m sorry that you had to go through that. And having to impose on relatives as well.

    It’s so aggravating how that never fails to happen. It’s one of Murphy’s Laws. If the contractors doubled their estimates up front, it would then take 4X as much time and money!

    Our garage project is not displacing us, and is on budget so far, but I thought it would be over by the end of July. Not. But next winter should be better with the addition of the new garage space. Winters can be hard here in northern New England (though not lately, thanks to climate change). I used to have “glumpy” winters often.

    OH, and which character from The Bill is it then?


Leave a Reply

