Cheap flights on Ryanair?

I have this urge to fly somewhere quick, cheap, and nasty. Like Blackpool….on Ryanair! Yeah! A perfect combination of feel-good nostalgia, sandy beaches, the thrill of a fair-ground ride and Ryanair’s cheap and tacky service. Like going to a 70’s-themed school disco.

I fancy going, oh, let’s say end of April. Just click click, here we go….:
ryanair-selection-screen.jpg

Look at the price…an amazing 2 cents! That’d hardly buy the snot off a donkey on the Blackpool pier. That’s gotta be good value.
blackpool.jpg
My hands are trembling as I select the flights. I think of all the ice-cream I could buy with the change of a fiver? Oh glory! I might even be able to afford those retro brown cordury jeans with the money I save.

blackpool-or-bust.jpg
Uh oh. What’s this about taxes and charges? Still, 34 odd euro is still not bad. I shall press on regardless…maybe I can swap the Ye Old Clapboard Hotel for the planned extravagance of the Pierless Grand Palace to save on cash.   

So, let me see, I’ll take three bags, that should be enough for all that suntan lotion I’ll need. What’s this, priority boarding? Oh, luxury! I’ll be sure to get a seat with that, click click. Yep some insurance thrown in too, can’t be too careful!

looks-like-the-beach-is-out.jpg

What’s this? 120.25 euro?!? Oh my. Have I done something wrong?

Throw in a couple of sandwiches, the taxi ride to the airport, the bus from Blackpool to the hotel, hmmmm, beginning to add up. Maybe I’ll reconsider…

2 Comments

  1. February 24, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Part of my job is dealing with airline pricing. Is it bad that I find this to be not that funny because it’s perfectly sensible?

  2. shazgood said,

    February 24, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    “sensible”? Is this irony?


Leave a Reply

